top of page

Get to Know Me - Jiya Jhonsa

Hello readers! Thank you so much for being here and starting this journey with us, we cannot thank you enough. My name is Jiya, and I'm writing this post in the summer before my senior year of high school. Shaili and I started this blog because we're both passionate about studying and working in the business field, and we noticed that there really aren't that many resources online encouraging girls to consider the same path and why it would be beneficial for them.


First, I'm going to talk a little about how I started getting interested in this field. I actually wanted to be an architect until I was 11, but I'm so thankful that I was able to discover business and learn about it from such a young age. I never even really knew what business was or that people studied it until I heard about an organization called DECA when I was in 7th grade. Essentially, DECA allows students to learn more about and compete in the fields of finance, marketing, hospitality, and management. Learning more about this organization and participating in it all throughout high school was easily the most impactful decision in my "what do I want to be when I grow up?" journey.


Now, instead of designing high-rises I dream about running a company in them. I love learning about the global economy, marketing products and services, managing projects and people, and basically anything else in the realm of business except for finance (which is great because that's what Shaili is here for).


Through Empowering Economics, we really have just one hope: that you, no matter who you are or what your aspirations are, can learn a little more about the limitless possibilities of the business field. We want to empower as many girls as we can to join a field that you don't really learn much about at a young age, and hope that you continue coming back to our blog because we really appreciate it!


bottom of page